Our History

The National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Suffolk County Chapter, Inc. 

"Black women are the linchpin of leadership continuity among all Black people and understand the need for mentoring that must be nurtured and honed day by day, from one generation to another."

With the growth of other organizations based in Suffolk County, there was a need to address the issues affecting African American women who live or work in Suffolk County. In 2005, a core group of dynamic women formed an interest group to fill that void, and met alternatingly at the offices of Project Head Start in Patchogue and of the Girl Scouts of Suffolk County in Commack.

Bettye A. Easley, Miriam D. Couch, Tina Hamilton, Rachel Davis and the Honorable Joan B. Johnson served as the initial interest group. They researched the NCBW national agenda and began to formulate a mission and a vision for a Suffolk County chapter based upon national guidelines. The group followed the NCBW directives for starting a chapter, and began the search for other women who would later become the charter members of NCBW, Suffolk County Chapter, Inc. By the end of 2005, the initial group had recruited enough women to start a chapter.

On Thursday, March 9, 2006, the chapter held its Chapter Induction and Installation Ceremony at the Stonebridge Country Club in Hauppauge, New York. The National President Leslie Mays attended the historic occasion as did many other dignitaries from around Suffolk County. Proclamations and congratulations were presented to the newly formed Chapter by Suffolk County Executive, Steve Levy, and United States Congressman Steve Israel. During the event, nine recognitions and proclamations were offered to the new Chapter.

Founded in 1981, the National Coalition of 100 Black Women (NCBW) is a leadership forum for professional Black women from the public and private sectors. Today, the national movement has more than 6,000 members throughout 60 chapters representing 28 states. The Coalition advocates on behalf of Black women and girls through national and local actions and strategic alliances that promote the NCBW agenda on leadership development and gender equity in the areas of health, education and economic empowerment.

The National NCBW website is http://www.ncbw.org
And can also be reached at http://www.nc100bw.org

Charter Members of NCBW – Suffolk

Dr. Patricia Bellamy Margaret "Peg" Davis Donna Johnson
Katrina Bellamy Rachel Lee Davis Honorable Joan Johnson
Vanessa Baird-Streeter Thelma Drew Lorine Morris
Angela Brooks Bettye A. Easley Charlotte Pamphile
Lutricia Bunce Sherrion Dianne Elmore Odelphia Pierre
Dr. Floris Cash Yanick C. Frederic Vivian Senghore
Mercedes Commodore Tina Hamilton Keisha Walker
Miriam D. Couch Dr. Cicely Horsham-Brathwaite Jo-Ann Van Noy

Masquerade Ball

Saturday, November 17th 7:30pm

Masquerade Ball
Sponsorship Levels

  • GOLD SPONSOR $3,500



Chapter Bookshelf